Brighter than the Sun

The road I travel home from work every weekday passes by a soccer field. I never took note of it until I started seeing some kids play there around when I’m driving by. Usually if I’m having a bad day, seeing these kids out there playing makes my day good and if I’m having a good day, it automatically gets better. Now, I do not know who these kids are, but we’re connected by our love for the game. I’ve been spoiled by seeing them on a regular basis to the point where I get upset when they aren’t out there.
I do not remember the exact date I started playing soccer, but it’s a sport that has grown with me and has become a huge part of me.

A few years ago, I was part of my school’s soccer team that had one of most incredible of games under the lights.  Here’s the story from my point of view…

Just like every other away game, the team met at the parking lot and boarded the bus. It was a 90 minute bus ride to the location of the game. It was our first and only night game of this season and I could see the excitement in everyone. We took off and the jokes started going around. After some time, it became quiet as some people either fell asleep or got into their game mood. I managed to do both. About 15 minutes before arriving, we got a text message from our head coach. He unfortunately couldn’t be with us for that game because his wife was giving birth that day. The text was basically the starting lineup and wishing us luck, but I will never forget the last bit of that message. It read “win this for my baby girl.” That phrase alone practically gave a whole new meaning to the match we were about to play. We all looked around and knew what had to be done.

We got off the bus and made our way to the field. The home fans were slowly filling up the stands. The grass was wet which meant the game would be very fast. While my teammates were gearing up, I was looking for the physio as I needed my ankles to be taped for protection. My right ankle especially had been bothering all season. The hosting school’s physio finally showed up with 10 minutes before kickoff. She started taping my right ankle, but then we had to stop while the national anthem played. I asked her if she’d be able to tape both my ankles before kickoff and she said yes. Unfortunately, she couldn’t and the game kicked off with me outside, and I was in the starting lineup. She finally finished 6 minutes into the game and I was ready to go. I got on my cleats and put on my #3 jersey and was ready. The game was still 0-0

The assistant coach told me I was playing on the right side of a front 3, which came as a surprise since I’d been deployed as a defender throughout the season. I didn’t complain as I was subbed on. 2 minutes on the right side of the field and it wasn’t working out for me. Mahmoud, my teammate was playing central and I knew he preferred playing on the right so I asked him if he wanted to swap and he agreed. I went to the middle as the main striker and he came to the right. My productivity improved immediately and on minute 38, I got pass from Marlon, took a touch to set myself up, and blasted the ball with my left foot, GOAL. Absolute ecstasy. I’d scored my first college goal earlier in the season, but this goal felt a lot more special. We were all happy and celebrated like a bunch of kids in the park.

Unfortunately, our happiness only lasted a couple of minutes as our opponents responded with a goal of their own. The game was again tied up. Two minutes later, I was back at it again with another goal. It was 2-1 as we went to halftime. We knew the game was ours and we came back in the second half and basically put on a show against this team. I was done scoring for the night but I was able to create 2 goals and we scored a total of seven goals by the time the referee blew his whistle to end the game. A great night it was indeed. We shook hands with our opponents and were on our way. I texted the coach, “job done” as soon as I got on the bus.

That night under the lights is a night I’ll never forget. It was a night that showed that soccer is more than just a game. We played with heart, love, and with passion and were able to get the job done. Whenever I drive back from work and see those kids happily playing the beautiful game and that sight takes me back that faithful night. we might not have had the best of seasons, but everyone associated with our team went home that day with a smile brighter than the sun.

 

Boy D’Jine

Published by Boy D’jiné

...

One thought on “Brighter than the Sun

Leave a comment